INSPIRATION MONDAY: OUTSTRETCHED FINGERS

Posted: June 16, 2011 in Inspiration Monday
Michelangelo's The Creation of Adam. The Book ...

Image via Wikipedia

 

Poems are not my strong suit, but I do enjoy writing them.

Outstretched Fingers:

Michelangleo’s beauty?

Sistine Chapel, Man

reaching for Greatness.

God’s loving hand.

Man, striving

never to attain, God’s

PERFECT CREATION.

Distance of inches

might well be

dramatic abyss,

craggy Bulwark,

Grand Canyon.

Man’s outstretched fingers:

Voided perfection

Man’s longing achievement:

perfection of gods.

 

 

I wasn’t sure if I could post a poem or not for Inspiration Monday.  I believe the “rules” call out for a story.  But, what is a poem if not a story?  Right?

Comments
  1. pattisj says:

    You did very well on this.

    • chesshirecat says:

      Thank you, Patti 🙂 It’s the best fun, being able to write! This past 3 weeks have been kinda weird, with my Mom getting sick and the travel I’ve been doing. I hope to be back in the saddle with the keyboard soon, with ever more stories to crank out.

      Patti, I do thank you for coming to my blog to read the work, it’s quite nice.

  2. […] Inspiration Monday: Outstretched Fingers […]

  3. Mike says:

    I enjoyed this.
    I’m with you on the poem front – it clearly states there are no rules!

  4. Kay’s got it right – no rules!

    My favorite part is the inches that might well be an abyss.

  5. Indigo Spider says:

    Right! Poems count, in my opinion, which isn’t worth much, but you have it anyway 🙂 I like this one too! I particularly like “Man’s outstretched fingers, voided perfection.”

    • chesshirecat says:

      MS. Spider, I’ve come to admire your opinion when it comes to writing stylistically… thank you for stopping in and letting me know you’ve taken the time to read. Feels very good!

  6. Kay Camden says:

    Oh, but the first rule for Inspiration Monday is there are no rules.
    Well done. I could never write poetry! It’s usually over my head but I do like to read it.

    • chesshirecat says:

      Kay, thank you! It’s very nice to see you come visit me here! I do enjoy when y’all comment…even just to say “Howdy”! Thank you Kay, for the kindness of your comment!

Leave a Reply

