SNEEZING STARDUST [inspiration monday xix]

Posted: July 10, 2011 in Inspiration Monday, WEEKLY PROMPT

I so enjoy “BE KIND RE-WRITE” and I’m very glad for the prompts and story lines this site sends to me.

 

Sneezing Stardust

“Jesus, woman.  What’s going on with that brain of yours?”

Jamie appears to be dumbfounded. “How can you say this to me! I’m not stupid! I’ve been able to get some good stuff and this is how you thank me!  This stuff is so fricken good, it will change your life and you talk to me like this?”

Jamie is a small diminutive woman around the age of 35.  Kinda mousey looking with her shoulders drawn into her chest, her greasy hair falling down into her eyes and her chin seemingly always tucked down on her sternum.  She’s not the kind of female who is all in your business; she’s the frightened girl who is easily cowed into submission.  She couldn’t look a human being in the eye is her life depended on it.

“For God’s sake, Jamie.  How can I believe in you? HUH?  Jesus!  You walk in here and tell me this shit and all I can see is a ‘Jack and the Beanstalk’ story.  Jamie, you’re not 9 years old! Who the hell believes in this shit? WHO THE HELL SHELLS OUT THIS KIND OF MONEY FOR THIS KIND OF SHIT?  HUH?  WHO?  A fricken nutcase that’s who!  You’re not fricken Tinker Bell and life isn’t a fairy story.  Christ.”

Jamie’s heart is beating faster with each verbal insult Jason is tossing at her.  “I saw IT, dammit. I experienced what it can do.  I know it works.  I didn’t get ripped off, Jason. This is gonna do the trick. It will work.”

Jason, pours the contents of the bag out on the mirror.  Grabs the razor and starts chopping.  Pissing and moaning about what she’s done. The money she blew, the dreams she’s burned.  He chops the crystal into powder shoves the stuff into a line: booting a straw up one side of his nose as he plugs the other side.  SNORT.

He feels it hit the top of his head like a hot poker.  Something’s wrong.  This ain’t right.  A kaleidoscope of tumbling shapes and colors fill his brain.  His body recoils from the blow.  His eyes roll back into his skull, inspecting the brain.  His nose is bleeding profusely and he is sneezing violently.  Stuff is spraying out his nose.  It ain’t natural.  It’s as though a fireworks display was going on right in front of her.  Jamie’s smile is ear to ear.  She’s watching Jason and enjoying what the “Star Dust” is doing to him.  “Serves him right.” she murmurs.

Jamie watches until Jason stops thrashing.  All the while she’s telling him about the Star Dust.  He doesn’t hear her anymore, but that don’t stop the story as it flows from her lips.  “Star Dust Jason. I made it.  It’s chemicals from under the sink and it’s rat bait.  You stupid tweekers and crackheads are all alike.”  Jamie collects the mirror, the straw, the baggie and the compound.  She wipes everything she’s touched, and she walks out the door.

Jamie walks from the house with her hair pulled back high into a ponytail, her head proud and her shoulders now supporting her chest as she saunters from the building.  In her mind, she’s a super hero.  Like Blade cleansing the world of vampires, she cleanses the world of tweekers and crackheads.

Jamie’s smile grows larger as she walks deeper into the neighborhood.  She knows which house needs cleaning next.

Comments
  1. Mike says:

    A great story.
    The ending, like the star dust, was not what I expected.
    Thanks for a great read.

  2. Kay Camden says:

    Great use of the prompt! I love “inspecting the brain”. What an image.

  3. Indigo Spider says:

    Whoa! I love the description of Jamie, from mousy to strong, very well done. Gritty. I liked this one a lot.

  4. Woah. This one really smacks you in the back of the head. Nice work.

  5. Joss says:

    never mess with a woman on a mission!

    • Chuck Orr says:

      lol Josh .. absolutely!

    • chesshirecat says:

      Thanks yall. This one just kept coming. I sat down wrote the title and the next thing I knew, my fingers were flying. When I was done, I had to go back and change a few tenses…but damn it just flowed. I felt this was good from beginning to end>

Leave a Reply

